Best Practices for Spray-Dried Dispersion Formulation Selection and Early Development

Mar 28, 2018

Register Free:

A large fraction of orally administered small molecules have low aqueous solubility, and, therefore, poor oral absorption. Amorphous dispersions are becoming more widely used as a formulation approach to increasing the oral exposure of such molecules. Spray-dried dispersions (SDD) are one of the most common technologies for producing amorphous dispersions of drug and polymer due to applicability and scalability. There are a number of important considerations that typically need to be addressed early in formulating spray-dried dispersions, including recognition of the rate-limiting step to absorption, (e.g., dissolution rate vs. solubility-permeability limitations), pH-dependent performance, physical and chemical stability issues, and target product profiles.

In this webcast, participants will learn about best practices for SDD formulation development in the areas of manufacturability, performance, and stability. Specific topics will include solvent and polymer selection, formulation optimization using early screening approaches and in-vitrotesting, and minimizing development time and formulation screening costs while arriving at technically robust formulation solutions for further development.



Ian Yates, Product Development Lead, Lonza Pharma & Biotech


Date and Time:

Live: Wednesday, 28 March, 2018 at 11 am EDT | 10 am CDT | 1600 BST | 1700 CEST

After the final airing of the webcast on 28 March, 2018 it will be available on demand until 28 March, 2019. 

Sponsor: Lonza Pharma & Biotech

Register Free:

lorem ipsum