Insoluble APIs Scaring You? Don’t be Afraid of Nanoparticles!

Oct 31, 2018

Register free: http://www.pharmtech.com/pt_w/nanoparticles

Nanotechnology, the manipulation of materials at the nanometer length scale, sounds like daunting sci-fi, but in practice provides the pharmaceutical product developer with a host of options to protect a labile drug molecule, improve the bioavailability of a drug, target a drug to specific tissues or cells, or simply offer a reformulation option to manage the lifecycle of an existing product. This webcast will explore the most common nanotechnologies practices for pharmaceutical formulation development, the pros and cons of each approach, which types of molecules can incorporated and how, specific manufacturing equipment, characterization, and regulatory considerations.

Key Learning Objectives:
During the webcast, formulation expert Andrew Loxley, will discuss the implementation of nanotechnology in the development of a complex drug product for poorly soluble molecules and large molecules such as proteins, peptides, and nucleic acids. Topics will include:

  • Nanoparticles in drug delivery—specific advantages and routes of administration
  • Physical properties of nanoparticle systems
  • Regulatory aspects of nanoparticle systems
  • Equipment and processes for making different types of nanoparticles, and the pros and cons
  • Incorporating the active pharmaceutical ingredient in nanoparticles
  • Sterile nanoparticulate products
  • Characterization tools
  • Case studies on a topical organic molecule sun-block and novel vaginal HIV-vaccine
     

Speaker: Dr. Andrew Loxley, International Formulation Development Consultant, Particle Sciences, a Lubrizol LifeSciences Company, Loxley Consulting

Time and date: Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2018 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 3pm GMT | 4pm CET
After airing, webcast will be available on demand until Oct. 31, 2019.

Sponsor: Particle Sciences, a Lubrizol LifeSciences Company, Loxley Consulting

 

Register free: http://www.pharmtech.com/pt_w/nanoparticles

native1_300x100
lorem ipsum