Moving Beyond the Central Dogma: New Tools and Systems for the Production of Difficult-to-Express Proteins

Sep 26, 2018

Register Free: http://www.pharmtech.com/pt_w/proteins

In recent years, monoclonal antibodies have been the primary protein therapeutic; however, heavily-engineered, next-generation biologics now dominate early-phase pipelines. The complex nature of these molecules, which often comprise multiple (≥ 3) protein chains, can mean that they are difficult to express and require new development tools to achieve economically viable concentrations and clinically relevant critical quality attributes. For many difficult-to-express proteins, problems with expression occur outside the central dogma in post-translational processing.

Tools are being developed that will support commercially-viable expression levels of difficult to express proteins. This webcast will review a new system that allows construction of triple- or quadruple-gene expression vectors that simultaneously express multiple product genes from a single plasmid. In addition, two new approaches to increase production of these proteins by targeting post-translational processing will be discussed. Case studies and data will be presented showing the impact of these approaches for synthesizing complex proteins.

 

Key Learning Objectives:

  • What are the challenges posed by next generation biologics for developers of biotherapeutics?
  • How are new tools and systems going to help overcome the challenges? What is involved with using the new tools?
  • What is the central dogma? What are the implications of developing tools outside of it?

 

Who Should Attend:

Program management, process development, CMC regulatory, technology transfer, quality assurance, analytical development, quality control, manufacturing, and R&D

 

Speakers:

Peter O’Callaghan, PhD, Principle Scientist, Research and Technology, Lonza Pharma & Biotech

Colin Jaques, PhD, Senior Principle Scientist, Process Development, Lonza Pharma & Biotech

 

Date and Time:

Live: Wednesday, 26 September, 2018 at 11 am EDT | 8 am PDT | 1600 BST | 1700 CEST

After the final airing of the webcast on 26 September, 2018 it will be available on demand until 26 September, 2019. 

Sponsor: Lonza Pharma & Biotech

Register Free: http://www.pharmtech.com/pt_w/proteins

native1_300x100
lorem ipsum