Multiparticulate Formulation Strategies for Pediatric Drugs

Jul 12, 2018

Register Free: http://www.pharmtech.com/pt_w/pediatric

Getting children to take their medication is an age-old challenge.  It’s not a spoonful of sugar, but effective formulation strategies, that offer the solution. Formulation acceptability has become a key criterion for developing new drugs that ensure patient compliance.

Solid oral products are increasingly preferred as a robust alternative to liquid preparations for pediatric applications. Oral solid approaches can reduce formulation complexity, conceal bitter taste effectively, and improve formulation safety and stability while maintaining dose flexibility and swallowability.  Improving stability in particular is critical in effectively reaching pediatric populations in developing countries where temperature extremes can be encountered and specializing handling is especially problematic.

Multiparticulate formulations, which include mini-tablets, pellets and microspheres, offer increased flexibility in dosing. Suitable for modified release and taste masking, they are easier to administer to children and finding increased use in fixed dose combinations and in therapies designed for geriatric and multimorbid patient populations.

Learn more about multiparticulate technology and how it can be used to optimize formulations, to improve compliance within patient groups (particularly children, but also geriatric patients and those with dysphagia).

 

Key Learning Objectives:

In this webcast, experts will present and discuss:

  • Market and regulatory drivers for patient-centric formulations, with a focus on pediatric populations, but also a discussion of senior and other patient groups
  • Microparticulate technology options and technology selection rationale vs. specific formulation problem statements
  • Representative case studies that demonstrate the application of multiparticulate technology options

 

Speakers:

Sven Stegemann, Director, Pharma BD, Lonza, Professor, Patient Centric Drug Dev & Manufacturing, Graz University of Technology

Jaspreet Arora, Sr. Engineer Product Development, Lonza Pharma & Biotech

 

Date and Time:

Live: Thursday, 12 July, 2018 at 11 am EDT | 8 am PDT | 1600 BST | 1700 CEST

After the final airing of the webcast on 12 July, 2018 it will be available on demand until 12 July, 2019. 

Sponsor: Lonza Pharma & Biotech

Register Free: http://www.pharmtech.com/pt_w/pediatric

native1_300x100
lorem ipsum