Alice E. Till Selected AAPS President-Elect - Pharmaceutical Technology

Latest Issue

Latest Issue
PharmTech Europe

Alice E. Till Selected AAPS President-Elect

Alice E. Till, PhD, vice president of Science Policy & Technical Affairs at Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America (PhRMA), has been elected to serve as president-elect of the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists (AAPS), a member-based organization of approximately 11,000 located in Arlington, Va. She will begin a three-year term on the AAPS Executive Council (as president-elect, president, and immediate past president) in November, at the 2013 AAPS Annual Meeting and Exposition in San Antonio. The meeting anticipates an attendance of over 8,500 pharmaceutical scientists from around the world.

“On behalf of AAPS, I congratulate Dr. Till on being elected president of the association,” said John Lisack, Jr., CAE, executive director of AAPS. “She has been a tremendous asset to our organization for over 27 years, is a charter member, and AAPS Fellow. A true visionary, Alice will help lead AAPS to new altitudes during her tenure.”

Till stated that during her tenure as president, she will work to ensure AAPS continues to be structurally and functionally prepared to fulfill opportunities, and address the challenges that accompany its position, as well as steadfastly serve the needs of future pharmaceutical scientists.

In addition to the new president-elect, Christopher R. McCurdy, PhD, RPh of the University of Mississippi and Andrew M. Vick, PhD of WIL Research were elected AAPS Members-at-Large. They join Binodh DeSilva, PhD, Russ Weiner, PhD, and Dannette Doolitte, PhD as members of the 2014 AAPS Executive Council.

AAPS also announced leaders for the organization’s nine scientific discipline-based sections:

  • APQ Section Secretary/Treasurer: Eliza Fung, PhD, Bristol-Myers Squibb
  • BIOTEC Section Vice Chair: Meena Subramanyam, PhD, Biogen Idec
  • BIOTEC Section Secretary/Treasurer: Boris Gorovits, PhD, Pfizer, Inc.
  • CPTR Section Vice Chair: Arnab Mukherjee, PhD, Pfizer, Inc.
  • CPTR Section Secretary/Treasurer: John D. Davis, PhD, Genentech Research and Early Development
  • DDDI Section Vice Chair: Robin M. Zavod, PhD, Midwestern University
  • FDD Section Vice Chair: Joseph P. Reo, RPh, PhD, Merck Consumer Care
  • MSE Section Vice Chair: Ruta Y. Waghmare, PhD, EMD Millipore
  • MSE Section Secretary/Treasurer: Claire Scanlan, EMD Millipore
  • PPB Section Vice Chair: Roy Haskell, PhD, Bristol-Myers Squibb
  • PPDM Section Vice Chair: Pankaj B. Desai, PhD, University of Cincinnati
  • PPDM Section Secretary/Treasurer: Shannon Dallas, PhD, Janssen Research and Development, LLC
  • RS Section Secretary/Treasurer: Lynn Gold, PhD, Camargo Pharmaceutical Services

Source: American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists


blog comments powered by Disqus
LCGC E-mail Newsletters

Subscribe: Click to learn more about the newsletter
| Weekly
| Monthly
| Weekly

FDASIA was signed into law two years ago. Where has the most progress been made in implementation?
Reducing drug shortages
Breakthrough designations
Protecting the supply chain
Expedited reviews of drug submissions
More stakeholder involvement
Reducing drug shortages
Breakthrough designations
Protecting the supply chain
Expedited reviews of drug submissions
More stakeholder involvement
View Results
Jim Miller Outsourcing Outlook Jim Miller Health Systems Raise the Bar on Reimbursing New Drugs
Cynthia Challener, PhD Ingredients Insider Cynthia ChallenerThe Mainstreaming of Continuous Flow API Synthesis
Jill Wechsler Regulatory Watch Jill Wechsler Industry Seeks Clearer Standards for Track and Trace
Siegfried Schmitt Ask the Expert Siegfried SchmittData Integrity
Sandoz Wins Biosimilar Filing Race
NIH Translational Research Partnership Yields Promising Therapy
Clusters set to benefit from improved funding climate but IP rights are even more critical
Supplier Audit Program Marks Progress
FDA, Drug Companies Struggle with Compassionate Use Requests

Click here