Chromatography Forum of the Delaware Valley Dal Nogare Award - Pharmaceutical Technology

Latest Issue

Latest Issue
PharmTech Europe

Chromatography Forum of the Delaware Valley Dal Nogare Award

Meeting Reports

Session 230, Room 206A

The 2012 Chromatography Forum of the Delaware Valley Dal Nogare Award will be presented to Purnendu K. (Sandy) Dasgupta, professor of chemistry and biochemistry at the University of Texas at Arlington, this morning at Pittcon 2012. The award will be presented by Mary Ellen P. McNally of Dupont Crop Protection. The Chromatography Forum of the Delaware Valley chooses award recipients based on their contributions to the fundamental understanding of the chromatographic process. The award was established in honor of Stephen Dal Nogare, who died in 1968 after serving for six months as president of the Chromatography Forum. Dasgupta will be recognized for his work on the principles and applications of ion chromatography.

A session of oral presentations will follow, with talks to be given by Dasgupta on the development of electrodialytic devices in ion chromatography, Christopher Pohl (Thermo Fisher Scientific) on the synthesis of anion-exchange condensation polymers, Janusz Pawliszyn (University of Waterloo) on thin-film solid-phase microextraction, Daniel Armstrong (University of Texas at Arlington) on ionic liquids for chemical and biochemical analysis, and Kannan Srinivasan (Thermo Fisher Scientific) on advances in the charge detector concept for ion chromatography.

Dasgupta’s accomplishments include the development of electrodialytic suppressors, eluent generators, and postcolumn reagent introduction devices. Other research interests include the measurement of trace atmospheric species and atmospheric chemistry, 
air pollution toxicology
, automated intelligent analyzers
, microfabricated sensors and instrumentation, 
thin-film flow devices and sensors, automated process analyzers for the chemical industry, 
novel approaches to ionic analysis, breath gas measurement in disease diagnostics, perchlorate in the environment, and trace element nutrition.

Dasgupta has written more than 300 papers and book chapters, and holds 17 US patents, including the electrodialytic reagent generation and suppression technologies on which current ion chromatography is based. He has received a number of awards, including the Dow Chemical Company Traylor Creativity Award, the Ion Chromatography Symposium Outstanding Achievement Award (in 1989 and in 2005), the Benedetti-Pichler Memorial Award in microchemistry, the William J. Probst Lecturer Award, Achievement Rewards for College Scientists (ARCS) Scientist of the Year Award 2004-2005, and the Best Science Paper of the Year Award, Environmental Science and Technology, 2005. He is also the editor of the analytical chemistry journal Analytica Chimica Acta.


blog comments powered by Disqus
LCGC E-mail Newsletters

Subscribe: Click to learn more about the newsletter
| Weekly
| Monthly
| Weekly

Which of the following business challenge poses the greatest threat to your company?
Building a sustainable pipeline of products
Attracting a skilled workforce
Obtaining/maintaining adequate financing
Regulatory compliance
Building a sustainable pipeline of products
Attracting a skilled workforce
Obtaining/maintaining adequate financing
Regulatory compliance
View Results
Eric Langer Outsourcing Outlook Eric LangerBiopharma Outsourcing Activities Update
Cynthia Challener, PhD Ingredients Insider Cynthia Challener, PhDAppropriate Process Design Critical for Commercial Manufacture of Highly Potent APIs
Jill Wechsler Regulatory Watch Jill Wechsler FDA and Manufacturers Seek a More Secure Drug Supply Chain
Sean Milmo European Regulatory WatchSean MilmoQuality by Design?Bridging the Gap between Concept and Implementation
Report: Pfizer Makes $101 Billion Offer to AstraZeneca
Medicare Payment Data Raises Questions About Drug Costs
FDA Wants You!
A New Strategy to Tackle Antibiotic Resistance
Drug-Diagnostic Development Stymied by Payer Concerns
Source: Meeting Reports,
Click here