Utilizing Spray-Dried Dispersion Technology for Bioavailability Enhancement: Overview and Case Studies

Nov 15, 2018
By Lonza

Register free: http://www.pharmtech.com/pt_w/utilizing

A large fraction of orally administered small molecules have poor oral absorption due to low aqueous solubility or dissolution rate. Amorphous dispersions are becoming more widely used as a formulation approach to increase the oral exposure of such molecules. Spray-dried dispersions (SDD) is increasingly the preferred technology for producing amorphous dispersions of drug and polymer due to applicability and scalability across a diverse compound space. Selecting the optimal SDD composition for maximizing performance, maintaining physical and chemical stability, and achieving the target product profile in vivo requires that key parameters be tailored to the specific drug and balanced relative to additional factors such as manufacturability and cost.

In this webcast, participants will learn about best practices for SDD formulation development with an emphasis on SDD scale-up, manufacture, and subsequent bioperformance.


Topics Include:

  • An overview of SDD technology and spray drying best practices
  • Utilization of science of scale for rapid feasibility studies and scale-up
  • SDD formulation case studies utilizing in vitro bioperformance tools to predict in vivo performance
     

Speakers:
Aaron Stewart, Senior Scientist, Lonza
Alyssa Ekdahl, Engineer, Lonza

Time and date: Thursday, Nov. 15, 2018 at 11am EST | 8am PST | 4pm GMT | 5pm CET
After airing, webcast will be available on demand until Nov. 15, 2019.

Sponsor: Lonza

Register free: http://www.pharmtech.com/pt_w/utilizing

native1_300x100
lorem ipsum