Discovery, Formulation, and Performance of Self-Emulsifying Drug Delivery Systems (SEDDS)

June 4, 2020
BASF

Sponsored Content

Self-emulsifying drug delivery systems, or SEDDS, are arguably the most successful technology in the market today for taking poorly water-soluble APIs and turning them into bioavailable formulations. But where do you start? Learn about the physical chemistry of these systems, discuss testing options, and uncover 10 ready-to-use formulations to be used for your next project. Live: Thursday June 4, 2020 at 11am EDT| 8am PDT| 4pm BST| 5pm CEST On Demand: available after airing until June 4, 2021 Register free

Register free: http://www.pharmtech.com/pt_w/sedds

Event Overview:
The intrinsically poor water solubility of the vast majority of drugs in the global small-molecule pipeline is a challenging, but not insurmountable factor in drug development. Lipid based drug delivery systems (LBDDS)-and more specifically, self-emulsifying drug delivery systems (SEDDS)-have proven to be a successful formulation technique for small-molecule bioavailability enhancement in many commercial formulations.

SEDDS are successful because they are simple to formulate, directly encapsulate into hard and soft gelatin capsules, and are profoundly stable when formulated correctly. The challenge is that the physical chemistry of the systems is very complex, and few heuristics or trusted formulations exist in the open market. 

Ready-to-use and trusted SEDDS formulations, developed through robotic experimental screening, in-vitro models, in-vivo models, and robustly characterized are introduced for multiple types of poorly water-soluble drugs. This webcast will review the physical chemistry of these formulations, discuss testing regimens, and uncover formulations that are ready for drug development pipelines.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Understand the complex physical chemistry of self-emulsifying drug delivery systems (SEDDS)

  • Review the testing methods for SEDDS using both in-vitro and in-vivo models for effectively evaluating SEDDS performance

  • Walk away with 10 ready-to-use SEDDS formulations that can immediately be used for drug development

Speakers: Dr. Frank Romanski, Head of Global Marketing, BASF

Time and Date: Thursday Jun. 4, 2020 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST 

On demand available after airing until Jun. 4, 2021.

Sponsor: BASF

Register free: http://www.pharmtech.com/pt_w/sedds

Related Content:

Webcasts