Dry Powder Inhalation Delivery of Monoclonal Antibodies

Webcasts

Thursday, July 22, 2021 at 11am EDT| 8am PDT| 4pm BST| 5pm CEST Local delivery of monoclonal antibodies to the lung is enabled by spray drying to manufacture stable, respirable dry powders. An inhaled formulation of bevacizumab was effective in vivo, reducing tumor burden in a rat model of non-small cell lung cancer.

Register Free: https://event.on24.com/wcc/r/3287871/C3B17E0EF1D8F35353BCFE02233A1069?partnerref=MJHWEBSITE

Event Overview:

Monoclonal antibodies (mAbs) are powerful therapeutics that address unmet treatment needs in a wide range of serious diseases. Local delivery of mAbs used in treatment of lung indications via the inhalation route may help reduce dose, limit systemic exposure of healthy tissues, and lessen adverse events, while improving patient compliance and lowering cost of treatment.

This webinar describes the use of spray drying to manufacture dry-powder inhaled formulations of a monoclonal antibody for lung cancer. The resulting formulation was shown to be shelf-stable at ambient temperature, have aerosol properties targeted for delivery to the deep lung, and was efficacious at reducing tumor burden in a rat model of non-small-cell lung cancer.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Understand the therapeutic value of pulmonary delivery for lung indications
  • Learn how spray drying can be used to manufacture dry-powder inhalation formulations of monoclonal antibodies
  • Recognize the challenges associated with spray drying of biotherapeutics for inhalation delivery.

Who Should Attend:

  • Decision-makers at biopharma companies
  • Pharmaceutical scientists and formulators
  • Engineers working in pharmaceutical manufacturing
  • Students interested in the pharma industry

Speakers

Kimberly Shepard, PhD
Associate Principal Engineer
Lonza

Kim Shepard is an associate principal engineer in the research group at Lonza’s site in Bend, Ore., where she has worked since 2015. She leads projects focused on developing new technologies for bioavailability enhancement and pulmonary delivery. Kim’s areas of expertise include the formulation and manufacturing of spray-dried dispersions for inhalation and oral delivery, as well as the physics of polymers and amorphous materials. Kim received bachelor’s and master’s degrees in chemical engineering from Stevens Institute of Technology and a doctorate in Chemical Engineering from Princeton University.

Register Free: https://event.on24.com/wcc/r/3287871/C3B17E0EF1D8F35353BCFE02233A1069?partnerref=MJHWEBSITE