New Draft USP Chapter for Water Activity Measurement

Lighthouse Instruments
Sponsored Content

The pharmaceutical industry has used Karl Fisher titration to measure total water content in oral solid dosage forms for 30-years. Learn how USP , a new compendium for water activity measurements, recommends water activity methods for providing unique data and insights into formulation development, packaging selection, manufacturing, and long-term stability of pharmaceutical solids. Live: Tuesday, Oct. 22, 2019 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST On demand available after airing until Oct. 22, 2020 Register free

Register free: http://www.pharmtech.com/pt_w/922

Event Overview:

Pharmaceutical solids can come in contact with water during processing and are susceptible to water exchange with the surrounding environment during storage. Because this can lead to adverse effects on the pharmaceutical material, it is important to characterize and control the moisture present in the material.

Standard moisture determination methods determine the total water content. However, water activity determination is increasingly being used in the pharmaceutical industry as evidenced by a new US Pharmacopeia draft chapter <922> Water Activity.  This new USP chapter is motivated by the fact that a water activity measurement differentiates between tightly bound and free or loosely bound water. Free or loosely bound water is more freely available to participate in chemical, biochemical, or physicochemical reactions.

This webcast presents how a water activity measurement can be implemented to give insight into the impact of these reactions on critical product quality attributes including stability, dissolution rate, and physical properties of tablets, pills, and capsules, and other solid pharmaceutical material.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Learn how water activity can impact crystalline form, degradation rate, dissolution rate, and physical properties of oral solid dosage forms

  • Learn the key method development and method validation requirements detailed in the new USP <922> Water Activity chapter

  • See how a laser-based water activity analyzer provides rapid, accurate, and precise measurements

Speaker: Mike Lally, Application and Validation Specialist, Lighthouse Instruments, LLC.

Time and date: Tuesday, Oct. 22, 2019 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST

On demand available after airing until Oct. 22, 2020

Sponsor: Lighthouse Instruments

Register free: http://www.pharmtech.com/pt_w/922