Transforming Water to Meet Strict and Consistent Microbial Control While Reducing OPEX

Evoqua

Webcast

*Live: Tuesday, June 15, 2021 at 11am EDT| 8am PDT| 4pm BST| 5pm CEST* With defined criteria for conductivity, total organic carbon, and bacteria, purified water is a critical ingredient and processing aid for many pharmaceutical companies. Learn how your facility can achieve consistent high purity quality water while reducing total maintenance and operating costs. *On Demand Until June 15, 2022*

Register free: https://www.pharmtech.com/pt_w/OPEX

Event Overview:

In-vitro dissolution testing is used to characterize drug compounds throughout development to support the choice of a particular formulation, as part of the quality control process, and to assess the changes in manufacturing processes or formulation. For dissolution results to be meaningful at each stage, the test and the process need to be reliable, consistent, predictive, and accurate.

Filtration—as the only sample preparation step—plays an important role in the dissolution process; however, it is often taken for granted. The choice of frits or syringe filters is may be based on experience with previous formulations or availability in the lab. Selecting the incorrect filter can result in inadequate filtration, low analyte recovery, solvent incompatibility, or extractables that reduce accuracy and reproducibility. Choosing the wrong pore size or device can result in clogging that can adversely affect throughput and sample processing.

This webcast will review different membrane characteristics and provide guidance in selecting the appropriate filtration devices for sample preparation following in-vitro dissolution.

Topics for discussion include the following:

  • Problems that result from using the wrong filter and steps to solve these problems
  • Filter characteristics that affect drug recovery and downstream analysis, such as non-specific binding and extractable levels
  • Steps to optimize throughput and reduce downtime
  • A review of membrane properties
  • Guidance on the use of multi-layer and automation compatible filters.

Recommendations are presented for choosing the right sample preparation device that will help improve throughput, reduce sample processing time, and enhance test accuracy and reproducibility.

Key Learning Objectives:

  1. Understand the importance of membrane filters in dissolution testing.
  2. Review key membrane characteristics that impact quantitation (analyte binding and extractables)
  3. Learn about key device design features that affect filtration and particle retention (pore size, pre-filters, ultrafiltration)

Time and Date: Tuesday, June 15, 2021 at 11am EDT| 8am PDT| 4pm BST| 5pm CEST

Register free: https://www.pharmtech.com/pt_w/OPEX