Unpacking USP <922> & Water Activity’s Role in the Pharmaceutical Industry

Webcast

***Live: Tuesday, March 30, 2021, 2pm EDT | 11am PDT | 7pm BST | 8pm CEST*** Join Dr. Tony Cundell, a member of the USP Expert Committee that crafted the new USP General Chapter <922> “Water Activity,”¬¬¬ as he breaks down the implications of the new chapter and explains the role of water activity measurements in developing and producing drug products. Bring your questions for the live Q&A session afterward. *** On demand available after final airing until March 30, 2022.***

Register free: ​ https://www.pharmtech.com/pt_w/unpacking

Event Overview:

In recent decades, scientists and industry leaders have begun taking note of the influence that water activity (also known as aw, RH, or relative humidity) has on chemical stability, microbial stability, flow properties, compaction, hardness, and dissolution rates of dosage forms.

With water activity’s greater popularity has come new regulations and standards. The latest related standard—US Pharmacopeia (USP) General Chapter <922> “Water Activity”—has been finalized and will be published in May 2021.

In this live webinar and Q&A, Tony Cundell, a member of the USP Microbiology Expert Committee that crafted USP <922>, will:

  • Break down the details and implications of the USP’s involvement in water activity regulation and guidelines, specifically the upcoming General Chapter <922>
  • Respond to audience questions related to water activity, its applications, and the USP’s intent behind chapters <1112> and <922>
  • Outline a foundation for how and why water activity is a versatile and valuable measurement
  • Explain the role of water activity in the mitigation of the risk of microbial contamination in non-sterile drug products

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Learn the details and key points of the new USP General Test Chapter <922> “Water Activity, “ and discuss other related chapters and guidelines.
  • Review the fundamentals of water activity and how to apply it to safely and efficiently develop and produce drug products.
  • Understand why the United States Pharmacopeia has chosen to emphasize water activity and broaden the need to measure it.

Speaker:

Dr. Tony Cundell, Consulting Microbiologist, Member of the 2020-2025 USP Microbiology Committee of Experts, Contributor and co-editor, Water Activity Applications in the Pharmaceutical Industry

Time and Date:

Tuesday, March 30, 2021, 2pm EDT | 11am PDT | 7pm BST | 8pm CEST

On demand available after final airing until March 30, 2022

Sponsor: Meter Group

Register free: https://www.pharmtech.com/pt_w/unpacking