BIO Names Chairman, Board Members for 2005–2006

Published on: 

The Biotechnology Industry Organization (BIO, Washington, DC) named James C. Mullen, president and CEO of Biogen Idec Inc., chairman of the Biotechnology Industry Organization. In addition to Mullen, five BIO board members have been named officers for 2005–2006, along with 11 new BIO members.

The following BIO board members have been named officers for 2005–2006:

–Vice Chair, Healthcare: Joshua Boger, Ph.D., Chairman, President and CEO, Vertex Pharmaceuticals, Inc.

–Vice Chair, Food and Agriculture: W. Pete Siggelko, Vice President, Plant Genetics & Biotechnology, Dow AgroSciences, LLC

–Secretary: Joseph C. Scodari, Company Group Chairman, Biopharmaceuticals, Johnson & Johnson

–Treasurer: Stephen A. Sherwin, M.D., Chairman and CEO, Cell Genesys, Inc.

BIO membership also has elected 11 new members to the organization's Boardof Directors:

–Catherine M. Bonuccelli, M.D., Vice President, External Scientific Affairs, AstraZeneca Inc.

–Geoffrey F. Cox, Ph.D., Chairman, President and CEO, GTC Biotherapeutics Inc.

–Rachel K. King, CEO, GlycoMimetics Inc.


–John M. Leonard, M.D., Vice President, Global Medical & Scientific Affairs, Abbott Laboratories Inc.

–Gregory T. Lucier, Chairman and CEO, Invitrogen Corporation

–Thomas H. McLain, Chairman, President and CEO, Nabi Biopharmaceuticals

– Thomas B. Okarma, M.D., Ph.D., President, CEO and Director, Geron Corporation

–David E. I. Pyott, Chairman, President and CEO, Allergan Inc.

–Feike Sijbesma, M.B.A., Managing Board of Directors, DSM NV

–Martin Soerters, President, U.S., Novo Nordisk Inc.

–Peter F. Young, President and CEO, AlphaVax Inc.