Comprehensive Analysis into Disintegration Mechanisms: How Reliable Are Textbook Recommendations?

June 10, 2020
JRS Pharma

Sponsored Content

When formulating a tablet, the solubility of the tablet matrix is often used as the sole criteria for disintegrant selection. Most formulators tend to select swelling-type disintegrants for insoluble matrices and wicking-type disintegrants for soluble matrices. This webcast will present an in-depth analysis of the effects of disintegration mechanisms, pH of test media, matrix plasticity, tablet hydrophobicity, and storage effects on the disintegration behavior. Live: Wednesday, Jun. 10, 2020 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST On demand available after airing until Jun. 10, 2021 Register free

Register free: http://www.pharmtech.com/pt_w/mechanisms

Event Overview:
When formulating a tablet, the solubility of the tablet matrix is often used as the sole criteria for disintegrant selection. Most formulators tend to select swelling-type disintegrants for insoluble matrices and wicking-type disintegrants for soluble matrices. 

This webcast will present an in-depth analysis of the effects of disintegration mechanisms, pH of test media, matrix plasticity, tablet hydrophobicity, and storage effects on the disintegration behavior. In addition, the interaction of disintegrants in the tablet surface with environmental humidity is taken into consideration as an additional element for rational excipient selection.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • History of disintegrants and common mechanisms of disintegration

  • Performance of superdisintegrants in various tablet matrices and different media

  • Influence of high humidity environments on tablet surfaces containing different superdisintegrants

Speaker: Emily Sabath, Scientist Research & Development, JRS PHARMA

Time and date: Wednesday, Jun. 10, 2020 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST

On demand available after airing until Jun. 10, 2021.

Sponsor: JRS Pharma

Register free: http://www.pharmtech.com/pt_w/mechanisms

Related Content:

Webcasts