Solid form screening and its role in drug development

September 10, 2020
Lonza Pharma & Biotech

Sponsored Content

In this webcast, Michael Grass PhD (Head of Solid Form Services, Global R&D) will present how solid form screening is performed and the importance of this work to drug substance and drug product development. Live: Thursday, Sep. 10, 2020 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST On demand available after airing until Sep 10, 2021 Register free

Register free: http://www.pharmtech.com/pt_w/screening

Event Overview:
Solid form screening and characterization is a critical part of drug substance development and preformulation. This webcast will discuss many aspects of solid form screening. The underlying fundamentals of polymorphism hydrates/solvates, salts, and cocrystals will be presented to establish a basic understanding of these systems. Regulatory guidance on solid form understanding will be discussed to provide a framework for what is required prior to IND and NDA filing. The importance of solid form screening and characterization in both drug substance and drug product develop, stability, and process development will also be discussed.

Lonza provides solid form services that is integrated into both drug substance and drug product development with strong materials science expertise and state of the art equipment. Close collaboration of solid form screening with drug substance and drug product development improves the ability to leverage critical data to optimize product development activities. 

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Review the fundamental physical chemistry of polymorphs, solvates, hydrates, salts, and cocrystals

  • Establish the regulatory requirements of solid form understanding

  • Understand the importance of identifying and characterization critical solid forms

  • Learn how a lead solid form is selected for development and its impact on drug product development

Speaker: Michael Grass, PhD, Head of Solid Form Services, Global R&D, Lonza Pharma & Biotech

Time and date: Thursday, Sep. 10, 2020 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST

On demand available after airing until Sep. 10, 2021

Sponsor: Lonza Pharma & Biotech

Register free: http://www.pharmtech.com/pt_w/screening

Related Content:

Webcasts