Understanding Polymorphism to De-Risk Drug Development

*** Live: Thursday, Oct. 15, 2020 at 11am EDT| 8am PDT| 4pm BST| 5pm CEST *** Polymorph screening of small-molecule drug candidates enables rational selection of the proper solid form/polymorph for further development. Learn the elements and techniques of polymorph screening is and why performing it thoroughly will help de-risk drug development effort. ***On demand available after final airing until Oct. 15, 2021***

Register free: https://www.pharmtech.com/pt_w/de-risk

Event Overview:
Determining the polymorphism of a drug—the propensity of a molecule to crystallize in different crystalline arrangements, to form crystalline salts and/or non-salt cocrystals—allows for rational selection of the proper solid form/polymorph for further development. In this webcast, learn about the basic concepts of the physical phenomenon of crystalline polymorphism in drug molecules and the techniques used to discover and characterize polymorphs. Explore the effects that different polymorphs may have during drug dissolution and solubilization in the body and resultant bioavailability levels. The benefits of understanding possible polymorphs from a commercial business and risk reduction standpoint will be explored.

Key Learning Objectives:

  1. Review the definitions of drug solid form, polymorphism, crystallinity, and amorphicity.
  2. Understand the physical nature of polymorphism and the techniques used to find polymorphs, salts, and cocrystals.
  3. Develop an appreciation of the importance of profiling polymorphism in drugs for the following factors:
  • As a key component of selecting the proper solid form for development
  • As a necessary inclusion in key regulatory filings
  • As an asset for intellectual property filings, which can prevent competitors from legally formulating your drug using a polymorph not under patent protection.

Speaker: Steven Johnston, Director Pharmaceutical Development, Pace Analytical Life Sciences

Time and Date: Thursday, Oct. 15, 2020 at 11am EDT| 8am PDT| 4pm BST| 5pm CEST

On demand available after final airing until Oct. 15, 2021

Register free: https://www.pharmtech.com/pt_w/de-risk