Applying Visual Techniques to the Product Design of Lipid Multiparticulates

October 20, 2020
Lonza Pharma & Biotech

Webcast

***Live: Friday, November 20, 2020 at 11am EST| 8am PST| 4pm GMT| 5pm CET*** Lipid multiarticulate (LMPs) are versatile drug delivery systems which offer flexibility in both drug release and final dosage form. This webinar discusses the process for formulation selection and LMP manufacturing through the lens of visual techniques.*** On demand available after final airing until Nov. 20, 2021.***

Register free:

Event Overview: https://www.pharmtech.com/pt_w/visual_techniques

Lipid multiparticulates (LMPs) are versatile drug delivery systems that offer flexibility in both drug release and final dosage form. The wide variety of available matrices and formulation approaches make LMPs amenable to a broad range of targeted release kinetics and delivery strategies. The solvent-free melt-spray-congeal process results in LMPs with controlled and narrow particle size distributions. For the final dosage form, LMPs can be given as sachets, incorporated into capsules and tablets, or used as injectables.

This webinar discusses the process for formulation selection and LMP manufacturing through the lens of visual techniques to study critical-to-quality attributes.

Thermal light microscopy is used to identify API–lipid miscibility and resultant particle architectures giving insights into API solubility as a function of temperature, impacts of API on lipid congealing temperature and subsequent manufacturability, and stability. High-speed imaging of the atomization process evaluates the impacts that critical process parameters and melt formulation properties have on the melt film flow, atomization dynamics, and resultant particle size.

This webcast will descrive how using these techniques in conjunction with predictive models can result in a streamlined progression for LMP

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Understand what LMPs are and how formulation and dosage form make them a flexible pharmaceutical drug delivery option.
  • Learn how thermal microscopy can be a tool to aid in formulation selection.
  • Demonstrate how variables of the manufacturing and atomization process are used to control product quality.

Speakers: Cody Prather, Engineer III, Research & Development, Lonza Pharma & Biotech

Amanda Pluntze, Scientist II, Research & Development, Lonza Pharma & Biotech

Time and Date: Friday, November 20, 2020 at 11am EST | 8am PST | 4pm GMT | 5pm CET

On demand available after final airing until Nov. 20, 2021

Sponsor: Lonza Pharm & Biotech

Register free: https://www.pharmtech.com/pt_w/visual_techniques

Related Content:

Webcasts