An Integrated Approach to Spray Drying: From Scale-Up to Manufacturing

Sponsored Content

The application of a phase-appropriate quality-by-design (QbD) framework increases the understanding of the interplay between the process parameters of spray drying and product quality that, when applied during scale-up, increases the chances of a successful outcome of the commercial manufacturing process. Live: Tuesday, November 19, 2019 at 10am EST | 9am CST | 3pm GMT | 4pm CET On demand available after airing until Nov. 19, 2020 Register free

Register free: http://www.pharmtech.com/pt_w/scale_up

Event Overview:

The use of spray drying to manufacture amorphous dispersions is continuing to grow due to the number of drug candidates exhibiting poor solubility. Nearly 40% of the new chemical entities (NCEs) screened by pharmaceutical companies fail to progress to later stages of development due to poor aqueous solubility. 1  The application of a phase-appropriate quality-by-design (QbD) framework increases the understanding of the interplay between the process parameters of spray drying and product quality that, when applied during scale-up, increases the chances of a successful outcome of the commercial manufacturing process. 

1 Roots Analysis Business Research & Consulting, Pharmaceutical Spray Drying Market, 2nd edition, 2018-2028.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Determining when spray drying is the right technology for bioavailability enhancement

  • The importance of process and formulation parameters that need to be addressed for successful commercial scale-up

  • The importance of the optimization of process parameters; what could go wrong if not executed correctly

  • How integrated services can minimize risk and save cost and time on development and manufacturing process

Speakers: Ryan Minikis, Principal, Arclight Pharmaceuticals, LLC

Jon Scrafford, Director, Engineering & Continuous Improvement, Catalent

Time and date: Tuesday, Nov. 19, 2019 at 10am EST | 9am CST | 3pm GMT | 4pm CET

On demand available after airing until Nov. 19, 2020

Sponsor: Catalent

Register free: http://www.pharmtech.com/pt_w/scale_up