Manufacturing amorphous solid dispersions by spray-drying: scale-up approaches

August 4, 2020
Lonza Pharma & Biotech

Sponsored Content

This webcast focuses on manufacturing aspects of amorphous spray-dried dispersions to enable successful scale-up and optimization of the process. An overview of spray drying and typical scale-up challenges will be presented along with a robust process development strategy to ensure critical-to-quality attributes are maintained. Tools and methodologies that enable rapid scale-up that is right the first time from clinical to commercial scale will also be highlighted. Live: Tuesday, Aug. 4, 2020 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST On demand available after airing until Aug. 4, 2021 Register free

Register free: http://www.pharmtech.com/pt_w/scale_up_approaches

Event Overview:
Spray-drying is a preferred process for manufacturing amorphous solid dispersions, which provide oral bioavailability enhancement for low-solubility small molecules. High permeability, low-solubility BCS Class II compounds are prevalent, representing approximately 70% of the new chemical entity pipeline, driving continued research and optimization of dispersion technology.

This webinar focuses on manufacturing aspects of amorphous spray-dried dispersions (SDDs) to enable successful scale-up and optimization of the process. An overview of spray drying and typical scale-up challenges will be presented along with a robust process development strategy to ensure critical-to-quality attributes are maintained. Tools and methodologies that enable rapid scale-up that is right the first time from clinical to commercial scale will also be highlighted.  

In a scale-up case study of spray-dried Eudragit L100, a filament particle morphology was observed, leading to poor yields and very low bulk density. By controlling the formulation and process parameters, researchers identified a scale-independent process space where SDDs can be manufactured without filament formation at high product yields and with desired particle properties.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Process optimization of the manufacturing aspects of amorphous spray-dried dispersions

  • Tools and methodologies for scale-up from clinical to commercial phases

  • How to avoid string formation at high product yields and with desired particle properties

Speakers: Joel Wood, Product Development Engineer, Lonza Bend, OR

Kim Shepard, Ph.D., Associate Principal Engineer, Lonza Bend, OR

Time and date: US & Europe: Tuesday, Aug 4, 2020 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST

Asia Pacific: Wednesday, Aug. 5, 2020 at 2pm Singapore | 2pm China | 3pm Japan | 3pm Korea

On demand available after airing until Aug. 4, 2021

Sponsor: Lonza Pharma & Biotech

Register free: http://www.pharmtech.com/pt_w/scale_up_approaches

Related Content:

Webcasts