Oral Peptide Delivery Utilizing Specialized Encapsulation Technologies

Lonza Pharma & Biotech
Sponsored Content

This webcast will cover physicochemical requirements and biological oral delivery barriers for peptides. Learn innovative approaches to derisk pharmaceutical development and increase the success rate of the first in human trials. Live: Wednesday, Apr. 1, 2020 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST On demand available after airing until Apr. 1, 2021 Register free

Register free: http://www.pharmtech.com/pt_w/oral_peptide

Event Overview:

Technological enhancements in peptide discovery and synthesis are emerging to meet the increasing number of incidences of cardiovascular and metabolic diseases. However, targeted delivery of peptide drugs within the therapeutic range remains a significant challenge for the biopharmaceutical industry. Parenteral administration-including intravenous, subcutaneous, and intramuscular injection-remains the primary method for commercialized therapeutic peptides.

From a patient perspective, oral administration is a preferred drug delivery method, providing improved patient compliance and facilitating outpatient therapy for chronic indications. Non-invasive delivery methods such as oral administration have increased over the past five years through the innovation efforts at start-up and big pharma companies. Indeed, the September 2019 approval of Rybelsus, (semaglutide) from Novo Nordisk is seen as a game changer within the industry as it allows oral delivery of high molecular weight (>1300 MW) peptide delivery.

This webcast will cover the physicochemical requirements for peptides and biological oral delivery barriers. Both aspects are crucial to de-risk pharmaceutical development and increase the success rate of first-in-human trials using innovative approaches.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Understand physicochemical attributes of peptide for oral routes administration

  • Review performance criteria for peptide formulation

  • Learn about biological hurdles to overcome low oral bioavailability of formulated peptides

Speaker: Dr. Hassan Benameur, Chief Scientific Officer Chemical Division, Lonza Pharma & Biotech

Time and date: Wednesday, Apr. 1, 2020 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST

On demand available after airing until Apr. 1, 2021

Sponsor: Lonza Pharma & Biotech

Register free: http://www.pharmtech.com/pt_w/oral_peptide