AAPS Announces New Slate of Leaders

Published on: 

Pharma scientists announced for AAPS executive council and section leadership positions.

The American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists (AAPS) announced its executive council and section leadership in late August 2015. Binodh S. DeSilva, Bristol-Myers Squibb Company, was elected to serve as president-elect; she will begin a three-year term on the AAPS Executive Council (as president-elect, president, and immediate past president) in October 2015 at the 2015 AAPS Annual Meeting and Exposition in Orlando, FL.

William E. Weiser, Patheon, Inc., was elected as AAPS treasurer and Joseph W. Polli, GlaxoSmithKline, was elected as AAPS member-at-large. They join members-at-large Christopher R. McCurdy, Andrew M. Vick, Robert L. Chapman, and Stacey J. Tannenbaum, 2015 President Gregory E. Amidon, and Immediate Past President Alice E. Till, as members on the 2015 AAPS Executive Council.

AAPS also announced leaders for the organization’s nine sections guided by scientific disciplines:


  • APQ Section Secretary/Treasurer: Bonnie A. Avery, University of Mississippi

  • BIOTEC Section Vice Chair: Boris Gorovits, Pfizer Inc.

  • BIOTEC Section Secretary/Treasurer: Renuka C. Pilluta, Bristol-Myers Squibb

  • CPTR Section Vice Chair: Robert R. Bies, University at Buffalo, State University of New York

  • CPTR Section Secretary/Treasurer: Cheryl SW. Li, Pfizer

  • DDDI Section Vice Chair: John S. Morrison, Bristol-Myers Squibb

  • DDDI Section Secretary/Treasurer: Christopher W. Cunningham, Concordia University Wisconsin School of Pharmacy

  • FDD Section Vice Chair: Ajit S. Narang, Bristol-Myers Squibb

  • MSE Section Vice Chair: Raymond D. Skwierczynski, Takeda Pharmaceuticals International

  • MSE Section Secretary/Treasurer: Bhavishya Mittal, Takeda Pharmaceuticals International

  • PPB Section Secretary/Treasurer: Maria P. Lambros, Western University of Health Sciences

  • PPDM Section Vice Chair: Daniel A. Bow, AbbVie

  • PPDM Section Secretary/Treasurer: Chinmay G. Shukla, FDA

  • RS Section Secretary/Treasurer: Raja Velagapudi, Sandoz


Source: AAPS