Byrn Recognized for Work in Solid State Chemistry of Drugs

Published on: 

AAPS presents Dale E. Wurster award to Stephen Byrn for his work in the field of solid state chemistry.

Stephen R. Byrn of Purdue University was named the recipient of the 2016 Dale E. Wurster Award for his work in the field of solid state chemistry of drugs from the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists (AAPS). The award was announced on Nov. 13, 2016, at the AAPS annual meeting in Denver, CO.

Bryn is credited with setting in motion the development of solid state chemistry of drugs with books and papers on the subject, the first of which were published in the mid-1970s. He has taught more than 100 short courses and has educated more than 50 doctorate students. He is cofounder of Purdue’s regulatory graduate programs and the Purdue-Kilimanjaro Sustainable Medicines in Africa Program. He has chaired several FDA and USP committees, is involved in The National Institute for Pharmaceutical Technology and Education, and is cofounder of SSCI, Inc.

Supported by the Dale E. Wurster Endowment, this award is given to individuals who have made significant contributions to the pharmaceutical sciences in the specific field of pharmaceutics.