The IPEC Foundation Announces 2021 Award Winners

Published on: 

The IPEC Foundation announced its 2021 award winners, who will be honored at their annual award ceremony in Philadelphia.

The IPEC Foundation, the charitable arm of the International Pharmaceutical Excipients Council of the Americas, announced its 2021 award winners. These awards honor individuals who work to advance the healthcare community.

The Ralph Shangraw Memorial Award, which recognizes individuals who have provided outstanding research contributions in the study of excipients or excipient-related technology, was awarded to Dr. Bruno Hancock of Pfizer.

The Henk de Jong Industrial Research Award, which recognizes individuals working in an industrial setting who have made significant contributions in the field of excipient technology, was awarded to Panayiotis Constantinides, PhD, of Biopharmaceutical & Drug Delivery Consulting.

The Patrick DeLuca Emerging Researcher Award, which recognizes a beginning career scientist (post PhD) who has demonstrated interest and dedication to the area of excipients, was awarded to Dr. Na Li of the University of Connecticut.


Five additional awards went to graduate students. The winners are:

  • Rahul Lalge, University of Minnesota
  • Daniela Silva, University of Alberta
  • Jayesh Sonje, University of Minnesota
  • Rishi Thakkar, University of Texas at Austin
  • Bo Wan, University of Connecticut.

The winners will be recognized at IPEC Foundation’s annual awards ceremony that will take place at The Notary Hotel, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania on Sunday, October 17th.

Source: IPEC